Good Strategies For Getting Someone’s Attention (Now That I’ve Joined The 5000 Followers Club)

Now that I’ve been using tsu for about six weeks I can tell you that some patterns begin to emerge. One pattern is lots of people will ask you to be their friend after you get to 1000 or 2000 friends and you’re somewhat active. At one point I had about 300 friend requests in one day.

If I assume that my experience is normal, what should you do to get someone to friend you? Think about it from the perspective of the person that you are asking to be your friend. WHY should they say yes?

When I had fewer than 100 friend slots left I began to be much more selective. After all, I have some real life friends who will join tsu and I want to be able to add them as tsu friends. Don’t you want the same thing? So, how do you get a person to say yes?

First, don’t expect that everyone will say yes. Do NOT be obnoxious and send a friend request over and over to someone after they have declined your invitation. I understand that sometimes you’ll make a mistake and invite someone twice or even three times. If your computer or your phone isn’t awesome, it’s possible to make that mistake. Trust me, I’ve been there.

If you’re thinking about it from that person’s perspective (the one you want to accept your friend invitation), isn’t it possible that they will think that you’re harassing them and that they could report you to tsu? If you get enough reports to tsu, they will ban you and as far as I know, that is a LIFETIME ban.

So make sure if someone tells you no that you really take it for a no and leave them alone. When there are millions of people on tsu and you want to reach five thousand friends, there are other fish in the sea, as the saying goes.

Second, does this person speak the same language as you? If the answer is no, what do you think you are really accomplishing by having them be your friend? Maybe it could turn into something because translation technology is getting better and better, but wouldn’t having someone who speaks the same language make things go much faster? Think about it.

Third, if this person has so many friends, HOW DO YOU STAND OUT IN A POSITIVE WAY?

If you want that person’s attention you could make RELEVANT comments on 10 posts. You could share two or three of their posts. You could like 50 of their posts.

Again, put yourself in their position. They have all these friend requests and they see that you speak the same language and that you’re posting positive stuff AND you’ve shared more than one of their posts. If it’s between you and someone that just sends a friend request I believe you will become the friend first 9 times out of 10. The only reason it’s not 100% of the time is not everyone is that good at paying attention.

When I first started on tsu I was learning all about it and trying to do all the maximums and I was getting involved in a lot of activity and a lot of notifications came my way. I am sure there are at least one or two people who gave up trying to get my attention, but lots of them did get my attention because they were positive and polite and unique.

Because I’ve got to go shopping with my son (Christmas time!) I’m going to continue this in another post.

If you haven’t joined tsu, here’s my LINK.

121614 023

Leave a Reply

