Take Time To Take It In

Right now I can feel the morning coolness coming in through a living room window. I hear multiple birds singing and if I don’t try to hard I can imagine the sounds from the freeway are a not too distant waterfall. The singing of the birds seems to be becoming more intense.

How often do we miss the opportunity to appreciate nature and the physical world?

When was the last time that you spent time without the internet, television or radio (or the movie theatre?)?

About 10 years ago when I attended Expressions Unlimited Toastmasters every single week almost without fail we had a guest from Orange County who traveled to Carlsbad regularly. He was heavily involved with the internet and I think I asked the wrong question because he never returned. Here is that question:

What do you do to get away from the internet?

I don’t remember his exact answer, but he seemed to think it was a terrible question.

He response was basically, “WHY would you take a break from the internet?”

I’ve seen articles written about such things in recent years. Maybe I was ahead of my time.

Recently we had fires in our area. You can see photos I took at Instagram.com/ACrowdFunder.

In dealing with that situation and the other things that got put on hold during the fires I found my schedule for Coach Zero disrupted.

Now our lives are being disrupted again by a beagle puppy that our son, Stuart, has named Bones. You can see video at Vine.co/ACrowdFunder.

I’m taking more time to appreciate nature and the physical world today. I believe my original schedule for Coach Zero is out the window.

By the way, maybe “out the window” is where we should all be looking more often.

Maybe we can get up and open the door and go outside and touch, see, hear, smell, taste and feel what we see when we look out the window.

In other words, take time to take it in.

That’s what I’m going to do as soon as I get this puppy to stop biting my foot.

Leave a Reply

